Cartoon curler

East Kilbride & Haremyres Curling Club

Millenium Stone Bonspiel
Season 2023---2024
James Baird, Margaret Brown, Senga Hair and Craig Ferguson

2024-Millennium Stone Winning Rink

2024-Millennium Stone Runners Up

And of course our Runner - up Rink
James Strang, James Hair, Robert Paterson and David Wilson
with two prospective future culers by Dad's side.

Millennium Stone
Season 2023---2024

On Thursday 29th February, 2024 The Millennium Stone Bonspiel
was played and for the first time since the start of COVID-19
we were able to have a Frog Racing night to raise money for charity.
The committee decided to raise money for
The Brain Tumour Charity in memory of Willie Craig.
10 teams took part in a progressive Bonspiel
and at the end of the night the scores ranged from -6 to +6.
James Strang, James Hair, Robert Paterson and David Wilson
were runners up with +4 and the winning team on +6
was James Baird, Margaret Brown, Senga Hair and Craig Ferguson.
A welcome finger buffet was supplied by Stewart
before the frog racing started.
5 races were run with the winner of each race
qualifying to compete in the final race of the night.
The finalists were Eric Richardson, Neil Fife,
Jill Strang, Bill Paton and Caroline Morrison,
much hilarity ensued as Willie Cannon,
who was the commentator for the night,
auctioned the final race jockeys.
The winner of the final race was Jill Strang,
she had obviously been practising
up and down the kitchen floor.
The magnificent sum of £3,013 was raised for the charity,
Jim Strang’s email gives a summary of how the money was raised.
I would like to thank Nina Copeland
for providing the prizes for the bonspiel,
Emma Craig for informing us about the work
that The Brain Tumour Charity does,
Laura Strang and her team of young farmers
who organised and ran the Frog Racing,
Willie Cannon for his witty commentary on the Frog Races,
Willie King who made a beautiful bird box
and donated it for auction and Barry Cuthbertson
for donating 120 scoops of Porrelli ice cream
which were also auctioned.
I just hope James Strang shares his ice cream
with his family and friends.
Stewart Love for supplying a tasty buffet,
Barry who runs the bar for supplying us all with drink,
Lockhart and the ice men for excellent ice
and last but not least the large numbers of
EK and H members, Mearns Coronation members and curlers
from other clubs who contributed to the charity,
your generosity is very much appreciated.
Thank you very much,
Margaret Brown.

RINKS as Drawn
No 1 Jill Strang Tom Bryson
Mhairi McQuillan Elaine Gemmell

No 2 Tommy Campbell Jim Morrison
John Forsyth Jim Boyd

No 3 Steve Russell Fiona McGinnis
Catherine Morrison Rosalind Jamieson

No 4 Neil Fyfe Emma Hair
Bill Gibson Brian Cassidy

No 5 Willie King Mhairi Baird
Jamie Boyd Fiona Argo

No 6 Ryan Asher Helen Drummond
Caroline Morrison Aitken Hunter

No 7 James Baird Margaret Brown
Senga Hair Craig Ferguson

No 8 Willie Baird John Gilmour
Janet Leiper Bill Downie

No 9 James Strang Jackie Craig
Robert Paterson David Wilson

No 10 Willie Dykes Jim Strang
Alex Rennie Elizabeth Downie

Reserves- Carolyn Baird, Stella Cassidy,
James Hair, Lorraine Hogg, David Lawson,
Emily Lawson, Alison Paton, Bill Paton,
Amy McIlwain, Jacqui Taylor,
Alison Taylor, Karen Torrance

Inter Club
Matches and RESULTS

Punchbowl Rinks
Fixtures and RESULTS

Dun Medal
Rinks Fixtures and RESULTS

Bob Wiseman Trophy
Rinks Fixtures and RESULTS

Bob Dickie Trophy Club Pairs
Rinks Fixtures and RESULTS

Presidents Trophy and Opening Bonspiel
Rinks Date Time and RESULTS

Haremyres Medal Singles
Pairings, Date, Times and RESULTS

Centenary Trophy
Rinks Date, Times, and RESULTS

John Strang Trophy
Ladies League
Rinks, Fixtures, and RESULTS

Hamilton Rosebowl Ladies League
Rinks, Fixtures, and RESULTS

Craig Cup Ladies Pairs
Rinks, Fixtures, and RESULTS

Diary Dates

Site Contents Page

Last Update To This Page
14th April 2024